Skip to Main Content
The Judy Chicago Portal
As part of her efforts to overcome the erasure that has eclipsed the achievements of too many women, Judy Chicago has placed her archives with four institutions, Harvard, the University of Pennsylvania, the Nevada Museum of Art and the National Museum of Women in the Arts (see below). In turn, these institutions have collaborated to make her archives available worldwide through the Judy Chicago Portal. Organized thematically and by various projects, the Portal allows researchers access to digitized selections from her extensive archives.
Pennsylvania State University
The Judy Chicago Art Education Collection at Pennsylvania State University is a living archive on feminist art education. The Collection lives on from continued scholarship and teaching in counterbalance to ongoing tendencies of erasure of feminist histories and feminist pedagogy. The participatory architecture of the Collection website invites the voices of many to develop a feminist art education generative archive. Resources include the Dinner Party Curriculum Project, intended for K-12 learners and the Judy Chicago Dialogue Portal, which provides multimedia resources and the opportunity to engage in conversation with other users.
National Museum of Women in the Arts
The National Museum of Women in the Arts is home to the Judy Chicago Visual archive, which includes materials related to The Dinner Party, slides of artwork from Chicago's childhood to early career and lectures on topics including feminism, Judaism and art.
The Schlesinger Library, Harvard
The Judy Chicago collection at Harvard's Schlesinger library includes personal and professional correspondence, resumes, writings, drafts, research notes, journals, interviews, questionnaires, gallery catalogs and announcements, clippings and photographs relating to Chicago's personal and professional lives. Most of the photographs in this collection are or will be cataloged in VIA, Harvard University's Visual Information Access database. In addition, the library houses collections of audiotapes and videotapes that are available to researchers.
The Nevada Museum of Art
The Judy Chicago: Dry Ice, Smoke and Fireworks archive at the Nevada Museum of Art contains materials relating to her pyrotechnic works including Dry Ice, Atmospheres, Women and Smoke and Smoke Sculptures. Materials include limited edition prints, photographs, digital images, slides, 16 mm films, correspondence, drawings, maps, notes, maquettes and coveralls.
The National Museum of Women in the Arts is home to the Judy Chicago Visual archive, which includes materials related to The Dinner Party, slides of artwork from Chicago's childhood to early career and lectures on topics including feminism, Judaism and art. 
The Judy Chicago: Dry Ice, Smoke and Fireworks archive at the Nevada Museum of Art contains materials relating to her pyrotechnic works including Dry Ice, Atmospheres, Women and Smoke and Smoke Sculptures. Materials include limited edition prints, photographs, digital images, slides, 16 mm films, correspondence, drawings, maps, notes, maquettes and coveralls.